Campbell County recognizes 100 years of Girl Scouts and proclaims 2012 “The Year of the Girl”

Jacksboro, Tenn. – Mayor William Baird recognized 100 years of the Girl Scouts organization and proclaimed 2012 “The Year of the Girl.”

Baird presented girls with Troop 20208 and Troop 20715 of the Girl Scout Council of the Southern Appalachians with a proclamation on March 8, 2012 at the Campbell County Courthouse to recognize this remarkable milestone (photo below).

On March 12, 2012, Girl Scouts of the USA will celebrate its 100th Anniversary. On March 12, 1912, Juliette Gordon Low of Savannah, Ga. made a historic telephone call to a distant cousin saying, “I’ve got something for the girls of Savannah, and all of America, and all the world, and we’re going to start it tonight!”

That phone call was a precursor to the meeting that Low (affectionately called “Daisy” by family and friends) held that evening when 18 girls gathered to register the first troop of American Girl Guides. The name of the organization was changed to Girl Scouts the following year.

Girl Scouts of the USA now has a membership of more than 3.2 million girls and adults and more than 50 million women in the United States today are Girl Scout alumnae.

Girls in grades K-12 are invited to join a local troop and adults are encouraged to volunteer. Troop leaders engage girls in discovering self, connecting with others, and taking action to make the world a better place. Registration is $12 per year, and the Council offers financial assistance to ensure that every girl who wants to be a Girl Scout has the opportunity to join this vibrant organization. To get involved or for more information, call 1-800-474-1912 or e-mail

Visit to learn more about the 100th Anniversary of Girl Scouting and how the Girl Scout Council of the Southern Appalachians will celebrate this year.


About The Girl Scout Council of the Southern Appalachians
The Girl Scout Council of the Southern Appalachians serves nearly 20,000 girl and adult members stretching from North Georgia to Southwest Virginia. Service centers are located in Chattanooga, Knoxville and Johnson City.

Back row: Mayor William Baird, Marikayla Luallen, Mishonda Monday. Front row: Savannah Jones, Reagan Hatfield, Savannah Pinkston

This entry was posted in 100th Anniversary, Media Releases, Press Releases and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .